Routine Is An Interesting Thing

December 23, 2007

“Corpus omne perseverare in statu suo quiescendi vel movendi uniformiter in directum, nisi quatenus a viribus impressis cogitur statum illum mutare.”

Sir Isaac Newton, Philosophiae Naturalis Principia Mathematica (1687)

It doesn’t take much to recognize the parallels between our own actions and the world around us. One of the more fascinating aspects of that mirror is the concept of routine. Newton’s first law effectively states that objects in a particular state (motion or stasis) will remain in that state until acted upon by some force that either counteracts the state or alters it in some manner. My life is no exception; here are some examples:

  • When I was in high school, I spent 8 weeks in Israel in a special program that taught me a tremendous amount about life in Israel, its history and in turn, a tremendous amount about myself and who I was turning out to be. Many wonderful experiences and changes came out of my time there with one exception: I picked up a nasty habit of smoking. I can’t remember exactly what went through my mind other than I had thought it would help me get into the girl’s pants who sat across from me (she was a chain smoker.) I eventually gave it up but never really quit.
  • This morning, I topped 200lbs. on the bathroom scale. I also am headed to the gym after my wife gets up. My wedding weight was 167 lbs. back in 1999. Soon after we got married and left for San Antonio, I packed on about 20 lbs. of lard and breakfast tacos. In 2004 when I came back to Houston, I managed to fill in the rest with stress and a Jewish mother-in-law (wonderful woman who sees me as the Swanson’s Hungry Man.)
  • I am a regular contributor to Startup Houston and manage to get content our on a regular basis. I started this blog almost 2 months ago and am only getting around to posting today. Perhaps it was the call from my mother that got me thinking about an outlet for my thoughts or maybe something I have yet to understand. Regardless, it will be interesting to see if I keep up with this as consistently as I do my other work.

All I know about routine is that getting started is hard but giving up is easy unless it is a bad habit and then the reverse is true. Enough for now…I need to get to the gym.

One Response to “Routine Is An Interesting Thing”

  1. joshtabin Says:

    FYI…I did actually go to the gym today. Routines are just as hard to get out of as they are to get into. Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

